Hope, Faith & a Corpse

Hope, Faith & a Corpse

In the tradition of M. C. Beaton, Hope Taylor, pastor of a small-town California church, tries to find out who sent a church elder to Heaven.

Order Now!
About the Book

Hope Taylor arrives in Apple Springs to start her new life as the first female pastor of Faith Chapel Episcopal Church. The northern California town’s quaint cottages, bungalows, and shops promise a fresh start for the 42-year-old widow and Bogie, her scruffy black Labrador. But where is Father Christopher? The kindly old rector who hired Pastor Hope was supposed to meet her upon her arrival, but he’s nowhere to be seen. Hope’s faith springs eternal, so she explores the little white church hoping to find Father Christopher. But when she enters the columbarium, she instead finds church elder Stanley King–his skull crushed by a fallen burial urn.

Hope had made Stanley’s acquaintance before, and had struggled to take a charitable view of his character. Stanley was as wicked as he was wealthy, as petty as he was pious. His soul may have been holy, but his behavior was wholly rotten. The last time Hope had seen him, he had shouted drunkenly that she would preach at Faith Chapel over his dead body.

Many of the townsfolk witnessed the altercation, so Hope finds herself as the prime suspect in Stanley’s murder. With Bogie’s four-footed assistance, Hope is determined to find the real killer and clear her name…even if it will require a bit of divine intervention.

Details
Author:
Series: A Faith Chapel Mystery, Book 1
Genre: Cozy Mysteries
Tag: Featured Books
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Year: 2021
ASIN: B0871KRPKG
ISBN: 9781643855042
Endorsements
“[A] warmhearted, humorous addition to the pantheon of clerical sleuths.”
– Kirkus Reviews
“The author's humor engages, the twists and turns in the mystery intrigue...and the resolution will both surprise and satisfy any reader who loves a good cozy.”
– Edith Maxwell, Agatha Award-winning author of the Quaker Midwife Mysteries
“Laura Jensen Walker's Hope, Faith & a Corpse is a fun and charming adventure. Sister Lou and Pastor Hope could definitely be friends."
– Olivia Matthews, author of the Sister Lou Mysteries
“A charming addition to the ranks of clerical sleuths, Hope Taylor is wise, witty and thoroughly winsome as she goes about her priestly tasks, including puzzling through possible motives for the murder that has blighted her first day in the pulpit. Balancing humor and suspense, with a cast of engaging characters, this perfectly pitched mystery is certain to intrigue and entertain.”
– C. C. Benison, author of the Father Christmas mysteries
Order Now
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Apple Books
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from GoodReads
Buy from IndieBound
Buy from Kobo
Sign up for Updates
About the Author
Laura Jensen Walker

Laura Jensen Walker has loved mysteries ever since she read Trixie Belden in the fourth grade in Racine, Wisconsin (home of the world-famous delectable Danish kringle.) A former journalist, Laura is the author of several chick-lit novels and humorous non-fiction books, including Thanks for the Mammogram! After more than a decade away from publishing she is thrilled to be back and writing in a new genre--cozy mysteries! Her first mystery, Murder Most Sweet (A Bookish Baker Mystery) came out in September 2020, and her second cozy, Hope, Faith & a Corpse (A Faith Chapel Mystery) releases in January 2021. Laura lives in Northern California with her Renaissance-man husband and their canine daughter Mellie.

Preview
Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."